The cricket world is bursting with excitement as the ninth ICC Men’s T20 World Cup approaches! With a record-breaking 20 teams competing for triumph, this year’s competition is historic. Get ready for gripping moments, unexpected twists, and exciting scenes of combat.

Betfair Exchange App REGISTER NOW

Get ready for exciting action scenes, unexpected twists, and gripping conclusions.
This article will provide you with all the knowledge you require to understand the 2024 World Cup T20, including the format, participating teams, and exciting action you won’t want to miss!

What is The History of The Tournament?

There have only been two repeat champions in the eight previous Men’s T20 World Cup editions, out of six different victors. Interestingly, no nation has ever won the trophy. And when it was played in the Caribbean last time, Paul Collingwood’s England team won, defeating Australia in the championship match.

India has the highest win percentage (63.9%) among teams that have participated in many editions, followed by Australia (62.50%) and Sri Lanka (61.76%).

2024 T20 World Cup Countdown Begins: When and Where Will It All Happen?

Co-hosts United States are first to begin the tournaments with Canada on June 2. The first round group stage will finish on the 17th of June. The semi-finals are scheduled for June 26 and 27, with the Super 8s for the teams who qualify being held on June 20. The Barbados championship match is slated for June 29th, which is sooner.

Games are being planned to conduct across seven stadiums in Caribbean and three in US, where a big ICC event is going to take place for the first time ever.

For these who know cricket in the West Indies the venues referred to are Barbados hence the two stadiums being used Andromeda, Antigua and Barbuda, three venues from Guyana; Providence Stadium, St Lucia , St Vincent & two venues in Trinidad and Tobago.

However, 16 events performed in Florida, New York and Texas though these places are used in the first round only.

The entire Super 8s and the knock-out phase will be played only in the Caribbean to cut off the expenditure of travelling.


Who Is in the Team?

This year, the cricket world is buzzing with an expanded field of 20 teams, all vying for glory. It’s a historic moment, especially for Uganda, Canada, and the United States – these three nations are making their World Cup debut!

We’ll also see familiar faces returning to the pitch. India, Australia, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and of course, the current champions, West Indies (who are also this year’s hosts!), are all back to battle it out. England, the reigning champion from the last edition, is ready to defend their title.

And let’s not forget the teams who always bring the heat – South Africa, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ireland, and New Zealand. These guys have a proven track record of making things interesting in big tournaments, so buckle up for some intense matches!

Rounding out the competition are Namibia, returning for the third time after appearances in 2021 and 2022, and Oman, making their World Cup a hat-trick! With a mix of fresh faces and seasoned veterans, this World Cup promises to be an epic showdown!

How will the Tournament Structure?

The three primary components of the tournament structure are the group stage, the Super 8s, and the final four. After being split up into four groups of five, the participants will be determined by a single round-robin format. The top 12 players are eliminated, and the top two from each group move on to the next round.


The Following are the Groups:

Group A: USA, Canada, India, Pakistan, and Ireland

Group B: Namibia, Oman, Scotland, England, Australia

Group C: West Indies, Afghanistan, Papua New Guinea, New Zealand, and Uganda

Group D: Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, the Netherlands, and South Africa

What is the Tournament Format?

The twenty teams are split into four groups consist of five players each. Every team play with every other team in their group once, therefore all players get to play at least four matches. Following that, the last eight teams are divided into two groups of four and compete in a round-robin tournament to decide the semifinalists.


Odds On: Can Anyone Stop India’s Domination?

With most bookmakers pegged at 5/2, India, who leads the ICC rankings, will be the tournament’s early favorites. Defending winners Next best at 7/2 is Australia, while at 9/2 is England. South Africa, who hasn’t opened an account, can be backed at 7/1, while hosts West Indies are available at 6/1.

Alongside Pakistan at 9/1 is New Zealand, the 2021 finalists that were defeated. Commencing at 33/1, the outsiders comprise of Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Sri Lanka. Kenya and Canada, two debutants, are both supported at 2,500/1, on the other end of the scale.


This article has equipped you with all the essential information – from the history and participating teams to the tournament format and favorites. Buckle up and prepare to witness cricketing history unfold!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *